Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Spousal Visa and working overseas  (Read 1371 times)

• Liked: 0
Spousal Visa and working overseas
« on: March 22, 2006, 01:31:19 PM »
Hi,

I am getting married to my American fiancee In May in the USA and afterwards we will then be both returning to live in the UK under the Spousal Visa scheme. I am a UK resident and citizen.

I have just received a job offer that will mean, whilst I will remain a UK taxpayer and be working for a UK domiciled company, I will be working in Amsterdam. If my wife comes with me to stay in Amsterdam (accommodation provided by my employer, we will be retaining an address in the UK), will this effect her gaining ILR when the spouse visa expires? That is, does the ILR have a residency requirement?

And if my wife finds work in Amsterdam (a possibility), I expect this to add another hideous layer of complexity but would the UK authorities look unfavourably on this?

cheers

Ian

• Banned

• Liked: 4
Re: Spousal Visa and working overseas
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2006, 01:36:49 PM »
How long do you expect to be in Amsterdam?

Victoria

« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2006, 01:43:10 PM »
I will be on a one year fixed contract. Afterwards this can be renewed or I could be reassigned to another role overseas (Europe and Asia) depending on the business circumstances of my employer.

• Banned

« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2006, 02:02:32 PM »
If you away for one year because of work then the Home Office have the discretion to allow the ILR providing the employer supports your argument that you had no choice but to work overseas on secondment.  Any more than that and it would certainly be refused.

It might be easier if you look into the possibility of your wife entering Amsterdam under the EEA visa and then looking into her entry to the UK once you actually come to settle here.

Victoria

« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2006, 02:33:54 PM »
Thank you Victoria.