Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: How hard is it to find a job?    (Read 2373 times)

• this is dedicated to the one i love
  • Liked: 0
How hard is it to find a job?  
« on: February 12, 2004, 05:48:45 PM »
Here is my sitation:

I am moving to London around April and should get my FLR and be able to work by May.

I have a Bachelor's and a Master's Degree and about a year an a half of administrative experience.  Id like to get an entry level Admin Assistant job, or something similar, for about 7.50 to 9 pounds an hour.

I have looked at all the sites folks have posted here and there seems to be a lot of Admin jobs, but really, how hard are they to get?  How long should I expect to be job hunting for something decent?  Long enough that I should get a job at a pub or something while I look for something better, or is it easy to get agency work immediatly?

I greatly appreciate any and all advice.
thanks!

• Wishstar
  • Fully Certified British Citizen

• Supplier of useless knowledge
    • An American in London
  • Liked: 1
Re: How hard is it to find a job?  
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2004, 06:33:23 PM »
You won't have trouble at all finding an entry level admin job in London.  There are tons and tons of them.

I found a job here in 2 weeks, had a permanent job six weeks later and am still working at that same company.  (Tho, in a much different, better job now.)

The trick is to get here, and then pound the pavement with temp agencies.  They'll tell you not to go to too many of them but I think the more the better.  Sign up with as many as you can and then bug them to death till you have a job.  Honestly, that's the best way!

• You'll Never Walk Alone
  • Liked: 8
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2004, 06:34:29 PM »