Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Hospitality and food visa- has anyone heard of it?  (Read 829 times)

• Hi there.
  • Liked: 0
Hospitality and food visa- has anyone heard of it?
« on: February 17, 2004, 07:09:16 PM »
Just wondering if anyone has any info about it.  Apparently it is the ONLY temporary visa I am eligible for and would allow me to work at a restaurant in the Northern Ireland.  I am in N.I. cuz of a dear boyfriend, we just got finished traveling and I am back here with him.  I have a degree in Journalism and have been out of school for almost 2 years, where I worked at a film production company in los angeles- so I have some work experience, but am in no way a skilled migrant.  I know I can apply for jobs here, but I have to get a company to sponsor me which seems kinda tricky if I don't have lots of experience.  That's why I considered this hospitality visa- it would give me some income while I am looking for a job or doing an internship (I want to work in television and that is how most of those jobs begin.)  I know I will have to go back to America to get entry clearance if I am even eligible for this visa.  The only place that had real info. on it was at workpermits.com, but unfortunately, they wanted £550 to process the visa on top of a £50 service fee on top of a government fee.  Seemed to me like a lot of money down the drain to work as a waitress.  

If only I had a grandparent/parent from the UK or was from one of the 50 commonwealth countries of UK including Canada (that one really burned me) Papua New Guinea, Mozambique, or Lesotho?, and it would have been be working holiday maker for me all the way!