Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Anyone Using Tax Software for returns?  (Read 908 times)

• Hi there.
  • Liked: 0
Anyone Using Tax Software for returns?
« on: March 08, 2004, 04:33:38 PM »
Hi,

This is my first time filing a return for the US while living abroad. I just arrived in June, so I have a split tax year, half year of US income, half year of UK income (UK employer).

In years past I've always used Tax Software, like TaxCut from HR Block. It's always worked just fine, as my taxes are fairly simple (no dependants, just own a house in CA, which I'm now renting). But I'm wondering if anyone has found these programs useful when filing from abroad, using the Foreign Income Exemption, etc.

The only thing I've found online is that you have to mail (post) these types of returns - no e-filing.

I'm guessing it should all work just fine, but if anyone has tried it out, I'd be curious to hear about their experiences.

Thanks a bunch!
-Eric

• My Girl
Re: Anyone Using Tax Software for returns?
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2004, 11:31:41 AM »
I bought a copy of Turbotax when I was in the states over Xmas, since I have used it for years and never had a problem.  I did a "test run" on my taxes this year, and the results were mixed.  It did an OK job of explaining my US tax liability, but was no help with the UK end of things.  In my case, since I did not pass any of the "physical presence" tests (I have only been here since October), I could not claim any foreign exemptions.  So , I am guessing that if I end up staying is this country long term (I am now going to be here until October 1), I will probably have to file an ammended return for 2003 next year.  It should be interesting...
"He (Bush) says we are at war on terror, but that is a metaphor, though I doubt if he knows what that means. It's like having a war on dandruff, it's endless and pointless." - Gore Vidal

• tebs
  • AmericanTexBrit

• Portrait and Wedding Photographer
    • Murakami Photography
  • Liked: 2