Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: HBetty Ford where are you?  (Read 1981 times)

• Liked: 0
HBetty Ford where are you?
« on: November 21, 2002, 01:27:48 AM »
Here is a subject that might spark some lively discussion in our chat room..

I worked as a alcohol and drug psychotherapist in the states.  When I first arrived in the UK I thought I might do this here until I ran into too many obstacles to count.  Now I have come to the conclusion that the UK does not want to address the issue of addiction at all.  I figure it is because there are too many addicts and not enough money in the NHS to combat it.  I took several college courses hoping to get certified to work in the UK.  All of my instructors worked within the prison system and pretty much told me that there was no use for addiction counselling in the greater public.

I have come to find their advice is accurate.  Because we are an island nation the hard drugs, although out there, are seemingly kept to a minimum.  However, the disease of addiction I feel is probably greater here than in the US because of the legal drug of alcohol.

Wow!  I could go on forever telling you about my hands on experience with this one.   Europe and the UK pride themselves on being so cutting edge and advanced socially and yet their ignorance when it comes to addiction never ceases to amaze me.

I have had so many friends throughout the years who are what we in the states would call functioning alcoholics.  Men and women who cannot live without that pub connection....or not even that...I have no qualms about pub life.  The pub seems to be integral to the British way of life.  However, excessive use of alcohol is detremental to ones health and although the press is constantly reminding us on the number of "units" that is safe to drink. they almost never address the fact that one of ten people drink to access and in this country I suspect that stastistic is much greater.