Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: ACH Code?  (Read 2759 times)

ACH Code?
« on: August 20, 2008, 04:38:48 PM »
I've been doing my money transfers with moneycorp for about 18 months and they've just changed their system so that now they require a ACH code to do the transfers.  Before they just used my account number and bank routing number but now apparently they need this number so the deposits will go in as direct deposit (for free) as opposed to wire transfers ($7) charge. Now, Ive called my bank, spoke to several people high up and they said there is no ACH code. A code does not exist, while moneycorp is telling me they need an ACH code which is normally 9 digits and usually starts with a 9. Does this code exist? Is my bank clueless or is it moneycorp? Any advice in exactly what Im asking for when I call the bank, yet again, and say 'I need your ACH code'.  I already have my account number and routing number--but apparently this is something different.. HELP...im ripping my hair out!  :(

• Liked: 0
Re: ACH Code?
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2008, 04:41:06 PM »
Is this for a US bank or UK?

Edited to add:

Found this link.  It list ACH codes.  It does look like mainly UK licensed banks, so if you are dealing with a US bank that could be the problem.  If a UK bank doesn't know it's exists, it's probably just the person you are speaking with.
http://www.uob.com.sg/assets/pdfs/business/achcode.pdf

A BIC code is another identifier to help with wire transfers.  My US bank had no idea what a BIC code was, although HSBC required one for bank transfers.  My bank was a small US savings bank.
« Last Edit: August 20, 2008, 04:47:40 PM by karin »

« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2008, 04:43:36 PM »
US Bank.

UK moneycorp is requesting this code from my US bank.  US bank says it doesn't exist. Could it be something that exists in the UK but not in the US?  I dunno, since moneycorp deal with international money transfers I assume they'd know if it were just a UK thing. ???