Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Emergency Passports (Urgent Travel while FLR(S) Application pending)  (Read 9140 times)

Hi all,

I am a postgraduate student (US citizen) here in UK. I recently applied to extend my visa for year (FLR(S). It turns out that Home Office takes anywhere from 4-14 weeks to process my application. I have tried to apply in person but they have no availability for an appointment. It has been 4 weeks now and I URGENTLY need my passport to travel for a prestigious Conference. I recently got invited to a prestigious forum.  My attendance to this forum is extremely important for my postdoctoral career.

I sent three letters to Home Office Border Control explaining my circumstances along with a letter from the Conference chair & all the relevant documents. I made over 20 phone calls of which I only got through 3 times. They aren't helpful at all...It's like talking to an automated machine...

So anyway, my question is what can I do now? I have two weeks.

1) I know I can get an emergency passport and leave the country but how can I get back in without my student visa?
2) Has anyone experienced using an emergency passport to return to UK while Home Office was processing visa application?

Any help is appreciated.
Thank you!!!

• Also known as PB&J ;-)
  • Liked: 844
Re: Emergency Passports (Urgent Travel while FLR(S) Application pending)
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2009, 02:11:20 PM »
I'm probably very wrong, but I think that when you have an emergency passport, thus not having the visa, the only way you can get back in is with a copy of the police report showing it was lost or stolen. Thus,probbaly not be a viable option for you... sorry... maybe someone can prove me wrong though
I've never gotten food on my underpants!
Work permit (2007) to British Citizen (2014)
You're stuck with me!

« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2009, 02:13:49 PM »
This may be your only option (from the guidance for your application type).