Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Forced marriage and spouse visa age  (Read 821 times)

• Liked: 0
Forced marriage and spouse visa age
« on: September 05, 2009, 08:21:49 PM »
Courtesy of the Freedom of Information Act, I can exclusively report (I’ve never written that before!) that the Home Office has finally released the full research report it commissioned into the issue of forced marriages and the spouse visa age. I have previously posted on the research summary that had already been published.

The research was carried out between March 2006 and February 2007 in three locations – Birmingham, Manchester and Tower Hamlets. It set out to examine four main issues:

The impact/outcome of the recent increase the age of sponsorship/entry from 16 to 18 years;
The benefits and risks of increasing the age of sponsorship or entry to 18, 21 and 24;
The range of communities in which forced marriage happens; and
The factors which were perceived to increase or decrease the risk of forced marriages.
As can be seen from the issues, the research was commissioned to look into the effect on the existing increase in the spouse visa age and to look at the possible effects of future increases. The research strongly suggested that a further increase would be harmful to victims or potential victims of forced marriage (sections 10, 13.1). It also concluded that the no recourse to public funds policy is very harmful to victims of forced marriage (section 7.3.2).