Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: The Move Is Getting Closer!!!  (Read 1438 times)

The Move Is Getting Closer!!!
« on: October 21, 2010, 06:08:50 AM »
Well, I have about 3 to 4 months before I move. I am in for a BIG change. My girlfriend says this to me..." When you get here, I do not want you to just sit around the house..because you will get homesick."    Well, I am very prone to homesickness. But, here in the US I am an active person. I play in a band here. I am an auto mechanic, I work in law enforcement, I run a small business, I am an avid fencer. I love to metal detect, I am a certified marine surveyor, and I do pro audio recording. I have plenty to do I guess. But there are other things that I love that I know I will miss. First off is boating..I love boating and deep sea fishing. I also love to surf as well. I live for those things. But she only lives several miles from Brighton. The weather is rubbish there most of the time. The only reason I am going to live there is due to money reasons...she makes ALOT more than I do. She only has a few years before retirement and I dont think it would be right for me to uproot her from that and bring her into a situation where she would have no job skills here. I am like a cat you toss me up and I will usually land on my feet, but I am still scared as hell as the time draws closer. I know that she is the right choice for me as far as a mate...but everything about the move is casting doubt to me. I am trying to form reasons why I should not go over. I spoke with a friend of mine and he said that I was terrified to leave home. Has anyone else had to deal with this? I hope there are more...and its not just me. Thanks for any help!

• Liked: 0
Re: The Move Is Getting Closer!!!
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2010, 11:24:02 AM »
I'm really sorry that you are going through this. An international move is often hard, exciting, a challenge and a thrill.  :)