Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: A sewing machine question  (Read 8653 times)

• Snaps
  • Liked: 11
A sewing machine question
« on: October 25, 2011, 07:05:42 PM »
For those of you who are experienced in these matters, please give me some advice! I've never used a sewing machine in my life. Never even touched one. But I'd like to. Do you have a recommendation for a beginner? I don't want to spend a fortune, but I also don't want to be so basic that I'm limited. I'm a complete novice, but I do have a friend who's going to give me some lessons so I won't be flying totally solo. I don't plan to start sewing clothes, but I think I'll use it more for crafty type things - making cushion covers, lavender bags, etc. Any ideas?
My Project 365 photo blog: Snaps!

• Thence we came forth to rebehold the stars
  • Liked: 21
Re: A sewing machine question
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2011, 08:52:33 PM »
Well you know, squirrellypoo is your go-to woman on questions of this sort!

But here's my 2p...  I've often thought about kitting myself out with a sewing machine again (I had one, once upon a time, that a friend 'kept' for me in one of my many crazy moves in the past long ago & far away...)  But if I were going to start again, and made myself an area in the house to do sewing, I would start with one of these:

http://www.johnlewis.com/230962733/Product.aspx

Only £59 (I've seen them on offer before for £50 & you might try Ebay as well) to get started, and if you really get going & decide you want to upgrade in the future - this one to help you find out didn't cost you the bomb.
Ring the bells that still can ring
Forget your perfect offering
There is a crack, a crack in everything
That's how the light gets in...

- from Anthem, by Leonard Cohen (b 1934)

• Snaps
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2011, 09:01:39 PM »
Well you know, squirrellypoo is your go-to woman on questions of this sort!

I'm hoping she sees this thread!  :)