Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: NARIC translation and challenge  (Read 3913 times)

• *swelch2
  • Liked: 0
NARIC translation and challenge
« on: December 22, 2011, 09:11:08 AM »
I received my translation yesterday :( Less than impressed with what they say my degree is worth here-just wondering if anyone has successfully challenged their assessment?

Basically I want to do my PGCE/GTP and because I don't have an 'honours' degree (does anyone from the US have one of those?!?) I won't get onto any course because the school won't receive any funding. My GPA, if I am correct, is roughly equivalent to a 2:2 here which I know isn't brilliant but still enough to get me onto a course if that was all they looked at.

I just feel like they are taking the piss :( I am so frustrated and tired of having to jump through hoops to get anywhere here...Any help or information would be great! Thank you :)
Even after all this time the sun never says to the Earth "You owe me."
Look what happens with a love like that, it lights the whole sky.
-Hafiz

Re: NARIC translation and challenge
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2011, 10:03:20 AM »
Basically I want to do my PGCE/GTP and because I don't have an 'honours' degree (does anyone from the US have one of those?!?) I won't get onto any course because the school won't receive any funding.

UK honours degrees are just a way of describing anything above a 'pass'. There's a convenient equivalency table here: http://www.fulbright.co.uk/study-in-the-usa/postgraduate-study/applying/transcript#how%20do%20i%20convert

Every US degree where the student had a GPA higher than 2.3 is considered to have honours in the UK equivalency. There's no such thing as a 1st, 2:1, 2:2, or 3rd Class degree without honours.

By this translation (which isn't official, but in my experience is pretty standard), a GPA of 2.2 is equivalent to a 'pass', and therefore doesn't have honours attached.
« Last Edit: December 22, 2011, 10:05:31 AM by dboone »

• *swelch2