Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: US/UK taxation of social security - REDUX  (Read 14118 times)

• Liked: 45
US/UK taxation of social security - REDUX
« on: February 10, 2012, 11:31:17 PM »
Other threads have made me realize that my understanding of how social security benefits are dealt with in the US/UK tax treaty was incomplete. This was because I was concentrating on the wording in the Explanatory Memorandum that goes along with the treaty and says

"Payments made by a Contracting State under its social security legislation are to be taxed only in the Contracting State of which the beneficial owner is a resident."

This turns out to be incorrect in certain circumstances. So here is a table that summarizes my current understanding. But remember I'm an interested amateur so please confirm this with your own research and/or advisor

UK Residents
US citizen -----------------Receiving US SS ----- UK taxable only
US citizen -----------------Receiving UK SS ----- UK taxable and US taxable
UK citizen -----------------Receiving US SS ----- UK taxable only
UK citizen -----------------Receiving UK SS ----- UK taxable only
UK/US dual citizen--------Receiving US SS ----- UK taxable only
UK/US dual citizen--------Receiving UK SS ----- UK taxable and US taxable

US Residents
US citizen -----------------Receiving US SS ----- US taxable only
US citizen -----------------Receiving UK SS ----- US taxable only
UK citizen -----------------Receiving US SS ----- US taxable only
UK citizen -----------------Receiving UK SS ----- US taxable only
UK/US dual citizen--------Receiving US SS ----- US taxable only
UK/US dual citizen--------Receiving UK SS ----- US taxable only

« Last Edit: February 11, 2012, 12:20:07 PM by nun »

• Liked: 63
Re: US/UK taxation of social security - REDUX
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2012, 04:46:44 AM »
I certainly hope that this is not correct, as DH is a dual national receiving UK state pension and US SS (both very small). We are UK resident.