Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Driving in the UK  (Read 4799 times)

• Liked: 0
Driving in the UK
« on: April 28, 2003, 03:25:04 AM »
I was wondering if anyone could help me out with info on insurance and licensing in the UK. I am a student and I travel home every summer. I was wondering if I can keep my US license for the 4 years as long as I get my departures stamped on my Passport. Unfortunantly I have a 3 year visa stamp on my passport as well. Will this make a differnce? I am going home pretty soon and I need to know if I should get a permit before my 12 months runs out or what. Also I was curious if you can use US car insurance for a UK registered car. Has anyone tried this? I know I would save a lot of money going this way, as I am 19 and have been driving for 3 years, and in the UK insurance companies would most likely treat me as having driven for 1 year. Does anyone know if I will be treated as having driven for 1 or 3 years? Also I have one claim, which was off road and did not include any violations. I was wondering if I have a clean slate in the UK or if I need to report my claim. Thanks for any help you may be able to offer, I greatly appreciate it.

• LisaE
  • A Brit in an American shell

• From Naples, FL to Melksham, Wilts. No contest.
    • Well House Consultants
  • Liked: 5
Re: Driving in the UK
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2003, 01:40:02 PM »
You ask a lot of questions I don't have first-hand experience in, but I do have gut reactions. So while I'm offering some advice, or sharing my feelings, please ask these questions of an insurance company and the DVLA to be certain you're getting the best advice.