Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: entering uk before tier 2 visa start date  (Read 5589 times)

• Liked: 0
entering uk before tier 2 visa start date
« on: July 10, 2013, 06:13:44 PM »
So we just got our passports back with our Tier 2 Visas inside. As per the UKBA website, they have a start date exactly 2 weeks before my job begins (I'm a teacher). My question is about entering the country before that start date. Is it possible? Our US lease is up at the 1st of the month, and the visa date is the 18th- which is going to make for a craptastic 18 homeless/hotel days with a toddler in tow.

Can we enter the UK on a tourist visa, and explain that I understand I can't work before my visa date? Will they insist that we have an outbound ticket to somewhere (Paris seems like the easy choice here), thus insuring we go through immigration again on the start date? I haven't gotten a clear answer on this yet via any other interwebbing, so hit me with your knowledge, O wise UK Yankee community!

• Liked: 4985
Re: entering uk before tier 2 visa start date
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2013, 07:42:32 PM »
Yes, you will have to leave the UK and re-enter on or after you the date on your visa to get the visa stamped.

If you come in earlier you will have a visitor stamp (and entry will be at the discretion of the IO).  Not having your visa stamped before you start work could open a big can on worms for you and your company.

But as you say, if you have an onward journey and ease the IO's concerns, you should be able to enter the UK prior to the start.  But you will need to exit and re-enter, just remember not to try to do this with the Republic of Ireland.

« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2013, 09:45:14 PM »