Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: PhD Questions  (Read 2604 times)

• Liked: 387
PhD Questions
« on: October 19, 2013, 11:31:34 PM »
I may be brave and apply to do a PhD.

I work for one of the supervisors, and the topic is what I already work on.  I've been studying it for the last 6 years at a biotech company, and here in the UK at a hospital.  Really, it looks like the perfect opportunity.

I had a look at the website, and have a few questions:

1.  It's listed as a PhD studentship with an annual stipend.  Does that mean the tuition is covered, and the stipend is supposed to be for living costs?  A big thing holding me back is funding... DH doesn't make enough to cover all the living expenses if I don't have an income.  But if the stipend is to help with living costs while you're not working, that may be do-able.

2.  It says the funding is for UK/EU students.  I have ILR, and in a few weeks, will have been in the UK for 3 years.  I understand that despite not being a UK citizen, I can still access home fees for education at that time.  Does that mean the funding is for the UK/EU citizens who can command home fees, or is it actually restricted to citizens of the EU and UK regardless of if you can use home fees?

3.  I'm on a contract with my workplace that ends in 1 year.  The application deadline for the PhD is end of October with interviews in November.  Say, hypothetically, I get the position... when would the programme start?  Is there a set fall/spring date for beginning doctorate programs here in the UK?  Do you set your own date?  Has anyone deferred their start date for a year to finish a work contract or something similar?

• Liked: 3595
Re: PhD Questions
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2013, 11:45:49 PM »