Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: I am so confused about traffic offences and what 'spent' means..  (Read 1739 times)

• Liked: 19
I am so confused about traffic offences and what 'spent' means..
« on: September 22, 2014, 11:21:43 PM »
Ok, so I have a bit of confusion about traffic offences. I know that you have to declare all traffic offences on the visa application. I did, even though I couldn't remember every single one I've ever had because I've been driving for 26 years. I did the best I could in remembering everything. I typed out a list of all of them (7 in all), including dates (some approximate) and details, as in, what the citations were for, and if they had been paid - which all of them were. I had thought that if you paid a fine for a citation this was considered 'spent'. However, I have been reading about this, and I am not sure that paying a fine renders a traffic offence spent.  This is the post I read that confused me:

http://talk.uk-yankee.com/index.php?topic=74835.0

Most of my citations are well older than 5 years, so am I correct in assuming they are spent? I'm having a hard time finding info on the web that relates driving offenses and how long it takes to for them to become spent.
I have one citation for running a red light in 2013. I was not pulled over by an officer, it was captured on a red light camera, and it didn't even go on my driving record. I paid the fine soon after, and that was that. Also, I was arrested back in '95 or '96 for an unpaid no insurance ticket, I paid the fines for everything and was released the same day. Will this impact my ability to get the FLR visa when the time comes? What about the ILR?