Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Tax on 401k lump sum distribution for UK citizen/resident?  (Read 16708 times)

• Liked: 4
Tax on 401k lump sum distribution for UK citizen/resident?
« on: February 07, 2015, 01:08:43 PM »
Hello All:

Newbie here, from the BritishExpats site. I lived in the US and Bahamas from 1983 to 2006 and am now back in the UK. Non-US resident for either tax or immigration purposes, and non-US citizen.

I'll keep my first thread/post simple. I have a TIAA-CREF 401a (two actually, one from TN, one from NC). I wanted to roll over to an IRA but TIAA-CREF won't let me open one.

So, I want to take my money out of the 401a plans and repatriate to the UK, in 18 months when I will be 59.5. Can I check whether my understanding of the tax implications are correct:

Lump sum withdrawal(s): Taxed only in the US? If so, how do I calculate the tax? The online "salary calculators" include Social Security and I presume as I already paid SS on the income that went into the 401k, I won't pay again (also, as a non-resident, I wouldn't pay SS)?

Using the online salary calculator, it seems I would only pay about $4k Federal tax on a $40k withdrawal, so about 10%. Does that sound right?

Periodic withdrawal(s): Taxed only in the UK? And only taxed on 90% of the withdrawal?

Using periodic withdrawals, I'd pay 18% UK tax (20% of .90 of the periodic withdrawal), assuming the amount didn't take me over the 40% tax threshold.

Any advice greatly appreciated! I get lots of useful US-UK advice over on British Expats, but it seems some of these questions, now I am getting clearer to my strategy, might be better asked here.

[I do have other questions about this situation, but wanted to keep my first request for help brief]
« Last Edit: February 07, 2015, 01:26:57 PM by dunroving »

• Liked: 111
Re: Tax on 401k lump sum distribution for UK citizen/resident?
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2015, 01:47:09 PM »