Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Dual Citizenship - U.S. / Irish. Can I retire in Northern Ireland?  (Read 1574 times)

• Liked: 0
My wife and I have recently retired and would like to move to Northern Ireland.  I have dual citizenship U.S. / Ireland.  My family came to America from Northern Ireland.  We have had the opportunity to visit a number of times and would like to explore the opportunity to move to Northern Ireland. 
Any assistance that can be offered regarding whether or not this is even feasible or perhaps I am just dreaming will be greatly appreciated.  I am a complete novice in regard to such things as health care, driving, insurance, etc., etc., etc. 
Thanks in advance for taking time to assist.

Re: Dual Citizenship - U.S. / Irish. Can I retire in Northern Ireland?
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2015, 03:16:04 AM »
Were you born in America or Northern Ireland?

As an Irish Citizen, you are also an EU citizen, which means you can reside in any EU member state, including the United Kingdom. The question is whether or not your wife is a dual citizen. If she is not, she will have to apply for a visa to move with you. I'm not an expert on NHS care in NI so I guess someone else will have to answer that.

Good luck!! I love the UK and Ireland so I'm sure you will enjoy it!
08/2010 - Tier 4 Student Visa Issued
09/2010 - Moved to UK
06/2011 - Met Partner
01/2012 - Tier 1 PSW
12/2013 - Married
01/2014 - FLR(M)

• Liked: 12
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2015, 07:27:11 AM »
If you were born in the US, I assume you have Irish citizenship through registration of birth abroad?  Both my mother's parents were born in NI (Co. Tyrone:  Fivemiletown and Bready) so that is what I did.