Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Applying for September 2015 MA program- too late?  (Read 2536 times)

• Liked: 5
Applying for September 2015 MA program- too late?
« on: August 07, 2015, 06:39:57 AM »
Hey all-

I am a recent American university graduate, and have recently discovered that I am incredibly interested in applying for graduate programs starting in September of this year, as other universities don't have any January starts for the programs that I am interested in. Will schools still accept my application, even in August?

Thank you for your help!

• Liked: 3589
Re: Applying for September 2015 MA program- too late?
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2015, 07:26:02 AM »
Hi there,

Welcome to the forum :).

It will depend on whether the individual universities are still taking any applications and if they have any places left on the courses you want to apply for, so you'd be best contacting the relevant academic departments of the universities you are interested in and asking them.

I think your main problem will be that if you are American and need a Tier 4 student visa, there probably won't be enough time to apply for and receive the visa in time to start the course in September - as you normally need to allow at least 3 months for the paperwork to be sorted and to complete the application process (https://www.gov.uk/tier-4-general-visa/overview).

In order to get a student visa, you need:

- a Confirmation of Acceptance for Studies (CAS) from the university you have been accepted to, specifying the course you have been accepted on and that you meet the points requirement for the visa. I believe these are only issued once a month and it may take several weeks for them to apply for it and for you to receive it