Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Requesting blood work  (Read 1331 times)

• Liked: 21
Requesting blood work
« on: August 13, 2015, 10:45:52 AM »
Because I've never done so before, how do I go about requesting blood work from my GP? At my last blood test in the US (way too long ago) one of my thyroid levels was a bit elevated so my doctor ordered two additional thyroid tests, which were normal. At the time it was just something to keep an eye on. Now, I'm concerned that the condition may have progressed due to some symptoms I've been experiencing.
4/2015 Married
7/2015 Spousal visa granted
8/2015 Moved to England
10/2020 ILR granted

• Britannicaine
  • Liked: 198
Re: Requesting blood work
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2015, 10:53:20 AM »
Just make an appointment with your GP, tell them your history and symptoms, and they should do your blood tests straight away. I have a thyroid condition too, and when I went to see my GP about my symptoms, she took my blood right there and tested me for diabetes and pregnancy as well, just to cover the bases. I had the test results by noon the following day and a prescription by that evening. YMMV of course (my GP is in a quiet village, not very busy) but that's what I did :).
On s'envolera du même quai
Les yeux dans les mêmes reflets,
Pour cette vie et celle d'après
Tu seras mon unique projet.

Je t'aimais, je t'aime, et je t'aimerai.

--Francis Cabrel

• Liked: 3595
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2015, 11:00:44 AM »
I've only had blood tests done once - I went to the GP because I was tired and run-down and my mum suggested maybe it was anaemia.

I just mentioned my concerns to the doctor and said he would send me for blood tests. He made a note of a few things to test for and then told me to book an appointment with a nurse to have the blood drawn - easy as that :).

• Liked: 223
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2015, 11:07:07 AM »
Twice I went to my GP in London and was referred to the blood test centre at the hospital.