Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Health Care  (Read 1648 times)

• Liked: 5
Health Care
« on: May 09, 2016, 11:33:53 AM »
This is part of an email I received in my quest for info about becoming an expat,  I am looking for comments , " As far as health care, I'm afraid you will be aghast at the care here.  I've been lucky in that I got into a great doctor's surgery that listened to me, and took the fact that I was a 30 year veteran nurse and knew what I was talking about.  They listened, as helped me out with several illness I have and I've been fortunate have them.  Now, my poor husband, who goes to the same surgery, is suffering with kidney stones, and has been waiting 6 weeks for an ultra sound in AGONY!  Part of it is his fault, as he's probably not as pushy as I am, however, not many people would suffer as he is.  I work in a sheltered housing accommodation, meaning I am a manager of 55 flats of elderly people.  I see their care, mis-managed every single day.  I've seen a near crippled with pain, 75 year old wait 3 years to have a knee replacement, a woman in pain so bad, she'd faint with it, be sent home, saying it was probably "arthritis."  This 70 year old woman, later was admitted to hospital, found to have a broken leg, and later died from a pulmonary embolism as they kept her in bed too long and she developed a clot.  Please don't think I'm saying any of this to be cruel or scare you, I'm just being realistic.  I was 50 when I came here, still young enough to have some health, but old enough to be a wee bit fearful of what would happen if we stayed here long term".  I could add to this from personal conversations with UK citizens but will leave this for now.

• Liked: 4985
Re: Health Care
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2016, 12:53:16 PM »
Are you concerned about the care you will receive in the UK?