Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: driving in UK  (Read 2389 times)

• Liked: 0
driving in UK
« on: August 23, 2016, 04:10:05 PM »
as far as i can tell, i can drive on my US license for 1 year from the date i landed in the UK, at which point i need to take a driving test to obtain a GB license - is this correct?

for those of you who have done this, how much more difficult is it to pass the UK driving test?

• Liked: 4985
Re: driving in UK
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2016, 04:27:45 PM »
Yes, you are correct.

Do not underestimate the amount of time it takes to take the test in the UK.  While my experience is from many years ago, I believe the timelines are still roughly the same. 

I received my provisional license in July, I booked the first available theory (written) test available which was 5 weeks away.  I studied for that and passed.  That night I went online to book my practical (driving) test and took the first test date which was mid-December (four month wait).

During that time I took about 10 hours of driving lessons.  Mostly to unbreak 'bad' habits that would have counted against me during the test.

Yes, the test here is ridiculous and over the top.  But they like it like that.  I believe the pass rate is less than 50%...

« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2016, 04:32:39 PM »
Yes, you are correct.

Do not underestimate the amount of time it takes to take the test in the UK.  While my experience is from many years ago, I believe the timelines are still roughly the same. 

I received my provisional license in July, I booked the first available theory (written) test available which was 5 weeks away.  I studied for that and passed.  That night I went online to book my practical (driving) test and took the first test date which was mid-December (four month wait).

During that time I took about 10 hours of driving lessons.  Mostly to unbreak 'bad' habits that would have counted against me during the test.