Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Basic Mortgage Questions  (Read 883 times)

• Liked: 0
Basic Mortgage Questions
« on: August 23, 2016, 04:32:14 PM »
First off, my timeline:

I came as a student in 2011, left in January 2013.
I came again as a student in September 2013, left in January 2015.
Came on a fiancee visa in June 2015, granted FLR(M) in October 2015.

I've been working as a temp since January 2016, but should get a permanent job in the next month or two.

1.  I've not yet built up any credit in the UK, should I get a credit card just to get that going?

2.  Once I have permanent work, my husband and I would like to buy a house on a joint mortgage, but it sounds like it may be difficult to be approved straight away.  How long should I work on a permanent contract before looking for mortgage approval? 

3.  What are the US tax implications for having a joint mortgage?  My husband is the principal earner, but we couldn't afford anything on his salary alone.

4.  How much more difficult is it to be approved for a mortgage while on the first round of FLR(M)?

Basically, I had my hopes up that we could be joining the property ladder soon.  I'm afraid it looks like if we want to move out of his family's home we'll have to rent in the meantime.  Advice?

Many many thanks in advance!
USC
Tier 4: Sept 2011-Jan 2013
First met: January 2012
Started Dating: 9 April 2012
Tier 4: Sept 2013-Jan 2015
Became engaged: 10 January 2015
Fiancee visa received: 1 June 2015
Flight booked!

• Liked: 4985
Re: Basic Mortgage Questions
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2016, 04:39:41 PM »
Find an independent mortgage broker who will only show you lenders who will grant you a mortgage while on FLR(M).  They'll be able to answer a lot of your questions, as it will depend on the amount of mortgage and loan/debt ration on how long you will need to have been employed for, contract type, etc.