Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Building credit and filing taxes  (Read 1261 times)

• Liked: 6
Building credit and filing taxes
« on: October 29, 2016, 08:52:26 AM »
Hello everyone! I'm submitting my visa application this Monday, fingers crossed I'm approved!

I've got a couple money questions as I'm new to all of this.

I'm very young and have never had to file my own taxes before. What exactly do I need to sort out when I move over there? Will paperwork be sent to me? Do I need to request it from the US before I leave? Will I be filing this separately or with my husband?

Also this probably sounds really bad but I don't have any credit whatsoever. I've only ever used a debit card as I hate the idea of spending what I don't have. I pay my student loans directly and anything else I need to purchase is withdrawn right then and there or I just don't buy it lol. However I know this can be problematic when I start house hunting and car shopping, etc. How exactly does one build credit? And should I be building it in both the US and the U.K. or should I just be focusing on the UK? Should I open up a credit card here in the US before I leave? Also should this be under a joint account or kept separate? My husband also uses debit so we might as well start building credit together...

Sorry these questions are so broad, I just honestly don't know how any of this stuff works, especially in another country.

Thanks so much for your help and your patience!
« Last Edit: October 29, 2016, 09:20:20 AM by thatgirlgrace »

• Liked: 102
Re: Building credit and filing taxes
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2016, 08:15:36 PM »
If you are a US citizen you will have the identical US tax and FBAR filing obligations as if you lived in the United States. This means filing with Uncle Sam, reporting worldwide income and gains to the IRS, for ever.

• Liked: 35
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2016, 08:37:04 AM »
This means filing with Uncle Sam, reporting worldwide income and gains to the IRS, for ever.