Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: American Moving to the UK - Introducing Myself  (Read 1320 times)

• Liked: 1
American Moving to the UK - Introducing Myself
« on: October 31, 2016, 01:35:16 AM »
Hi Guys!

I'm an American living in the States, and I'm looking to move to the UK soon! I have independent means to support myself without working (I'm an author, not telling who ;)) and I'm wondering how the process works. I also want to communicate with those who've recently made the big move from the states to see how they like it, experiences, etc. I'll be moving with my fianceè, and I want to live in the countryside, close to London, though. I love the village of Castle Combe, it's where I vacation when I come every couple months.

Any questions, just ask! I want to get to know many of you living in the UK. The more friends, the better!

-J.S.

• Liked: 533
Re: American Moving to the UK - Introducing Myself
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2016, 06:29:20 AM »
I just hope that more people will ignore the fatalism of the argument that we are beyond repair. We are not beyond repair. We are never beyond repair. - AOC

« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2016, 06:50:28 AM »
John Salinger?!!

J.D. Salinger died in 2010. I was at the memorial - very sad, so to answer your question, no, that's not me. :)

• Liked: 533
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2016, 07:19:45 AM »
Well welcome! I'm the village idiot apparently.

Lived in Bristol for a while, and miss it all the time.
I just hope that more people will ignore the fatalism of the argument that we are beyond repair. We are not beyond repair. We are never beyond repair. - AOC

« Reply #4 on: October 31, 2016, 07:26:05 AM »
Well welcome! I'm the village idiot apparently.

Lived in Bristol for a while, and miss it all the time.

Lovely to meet you! Are you stateside again?

• Liked: 4985
« Reply #5 on: October 31, 2016, 09:30:50 AM »
I've ended up in the UK countryside (a bit by mistake).  I like it here but I don't love it.