Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Tax returns and FBAR - streamlined procedure  (Read 1945 times)

• Liked: 0
Tax returns and FBAR - streamlined procedure
« on: December 03, 2016, 12:23:57 PM »
Hello, I'm a UK citizen always resident in the UK, but my wife is a US citizen (been living in the UK >10 years). Before we had children she worked in the UK and filed tax returns, but after a few years' break she's returnined to work part time a couple of years ago, and was under the impression that her low income fell below the reporting threshold - however it appears that for "married filing separately" this is only $4000, which means she should actually have submitted tax returns. At the same time we discovered this, we found out about FBAR which we had not known about at all - and over the past few years we have had account balances over $10000 while saving a deposit for a house.

We understand that we should follow the "streamlined procedure" involving 3 years of tax returns and 6 years of FBAR submissions - question 1 is:

1. Is this right - does the "streamlined procedure" cover what we need to declare?

The tax returns are fairly straightforward and we don't think any tax is going to be owed, but in case anything slightly exceeds the standard deductions my question 2 here is:

2. Do my wife's UK National Insurance contributions count as taxation which can be offset against her adjusted gross income? Or pension contributions, or union dues?

The FBAR process is going to be a little harder, since we don't have records to hand going back 6 years and will have to request information from banks. Question 3 is:

3. We have read advice indicating that we are best off getting all the information together and submitting all the tax returns and FBARs at once rather than doing what we can now, and adding the earlier years' FBARs later. Is this right?