Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: ADVICE!Moving Permanently to UK  (Read 731 times)

• Liked: 6
ADVICE!Moving Permanently to UK
« on: February 08, 2017, 03:40:29 AM »
Hi all,

I found this forum so helpful during my process of getting my spouse visa so I figured I'd try getting some advice on my move. I'm from California and have lived in the UK before (that's how I met my husband) when I studied there for a year. Because I've actually lived in the UK before I'm not worried about what things to pack or keeping my cell number or bank acct (I already have a UK number and bank acct) or finding a home (and I don't own a home here). However, now that I'm moving permanently I'm thinking about the other little details... I have tried looking at previous posts but haven't found that any of them answered my question- Any other things that people found they needed to do before leaving? For example, I've finished my dental work, will be requesting a copy of my medical records, am doing my taxes this weekend, cancelling gym membership (and other monthly bills that I wouldn't take care of anymore). Oh and we don't have kids to worry about ;D I have to leave in 2 weeks so I'm worried I'm forgetting to do things and will have a hard time taking care of them once I'm gone. Any help or advice is greatly appreciated!  :D

• Liked: 4985
Re: ADVICE!Moving Permanently to UK
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2017, 01:48:30 PM »
Adding someone you trust to your US bank account can prove invaluable.  Same with appointing someone as Power of Attorney.

I also would encourage you to budget for an annual trip home each year that grows if you have kids.  The number of people I know in real life who haven't been home in x number of years or who's kids haven't met most of their family is very sad.

• Liked: 6
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2017, 04:36:52 PM »
That's a good point! Thanks for the advice :)

• Liked: 1260
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2017, 09:55:18 AM »