Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Do I still have to employ British people if I want to start my own business?  (Read 624 times)

• Liked: 0
There used to be a post on here called "Starting or Running Your Own Business" (http://www.uk-yankee.com/wiki-manual/index.php/finances/self-employment [nofollow] ) but it doesn't exist anymore. I want to say that this is where I read that as a US citizen, you had to employ British people if you wanted to start your own business in this country. Is that still the case? I read another thread by Stephanie303 (I think) that said she started her own cleaning business, but I'm wondering if that's legal...

I have ILR and have lived in this country since Christmas of 2007. I was married to a Brit when I moved here and we've since divorced. I live here with my daughter who has dual citizenship.

I want to work for myself as a web developer / UX designer, but don't want to have to employ anyone as I'm just starting out. Anyone know where I can find a definitive answer on this?

• Liked: 1891
Do I still have to employ British people if I want to start my own business?
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2017, 10:15:45 AM »
I've had my own IT contracting business for 13 years and have never employed anyone but myself.  I am almost certain that any company you form will have exactly the same rules for hiring as any other similar British company.  That includes not hiring anyone if you want.

You will need to hire an accountant to help you start your new company and they can answer these type of questions for you. 

For more information on this type of thing, go to the forum at contractoruk
« Last Edit: February 13, 2017, 10:17:28 AM by jimbocz »

• Liked: 1260