Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Marriage Visitor Visa refused  (Read 3801 times)

• Liked: 0
Marriage Visitor Visa refused
« on: March 09, 2017, 02:55:06 PM »
Hi,

I am a newbie as you can tell and during my search found this excellent forum. Hope ksand24 can guide us when she has few mins. Thank you for your help in advance...

Quick brief on our situation:

Myself: UK citizen (self-employed)
My partner: Ukrainian living in germany on Au-pair visa.

We had applied for Marriage visit visa a month ago and got refused - due our own mistakes!

a) She couldnt show enough ties to Ukraine as she lives in germany and her german visa is expiring march end. (She had left her Au-pair job because we thought she will get the visa and come and stay in the UK until we decide our next steps)
b) She showed she may spend about £800 for her trip to the UK and rest would be sponsored by me. And she had only £790 to show in her bank after the currency exchange (silly us - didnt calculate it well)
c) The embassy guy didnt find the email correspondence we had attached for our appointment at the registry office for notice of marriage.

We had applied for a marriage visit visa as we were not sure whether we want to settle down in the UK or move abroad. So we thought she will spend 5 months in the UK and then go back during which time we would have planned our next step of where to live. So we wrote in our application that she will go back to Ukraine.

We had not booked any flights as the website says it's not required.

Our concerns now that the visa is refused:

If we decide to live in the UK-
1) Would it be a sensible option to apply for MVV if we decide to settle in the UK?
2) Would it be sensible to marry somewhere else and then just apply for spouse visa?

If we decide to move out of the UK:
3) Honestly, we are still not sure whether we want to live in the UK as i have been applying right, left & centre for jobs abroad and as soon something works out i would prefer to move.