Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Help with Marriage Visitor Visa (+ special license to marry?)  (Read 1046 times)

• Liked: 0
Hey folks,

My fiancee and I are hoping to get married in the UK, but it's looking intimidatingly complicated -- even for what I'd think is a very simple case. I'm really looking for some anecdata and possibly some advice on specifics.

We are both US citizens living (together) in the US, and hoping to have essentially a destination wedding in a beautiful old chapel (I studied in the UK and it's associated with my alma mater).

We've been informed we will need to request a special marriage license, and travel to the UK for an in-person interview related to that, and that it must be done before we put down deposits or are otherwise sure we can get married there at all. We're also told we'll need Marriage Visitor Visas for the wedding itself, but they can be applied for at most three months before the intended wedding date.

My questions:
  • has anyone else gone through anything similar, and have experiences / tips they can share?
  • must we apply for the marriage visitor visa before we are able to enter the UK to interview for the special marriage license? Or can we apply for the visa if our license is approved (and we know we'll be able to use it)?
  • regardless of whether we're able to actually get married in the UK, we're both keen on honeymooning in Scotland. If we aren't able to get the paperwork sorted out to get married there, will that affect our ability to vacation in the UK?

A little background, if it's useful:
  • as noted above, we're both US citizens, and have no other nationality (neither of us has ILR or anything of the sort)
  • we're both employed full-time and have a shared apartment lease and a dog here