Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Which Visa for Telecommuter with US Job Already?  (Read 446 times)

• Liked: 0
Which Visa for Telecommuter with US Job Already?
« on: May 21, 2017, 06:32:07 PM »
Hello, Everyone!
I have just returned from Northern Ireland, and have the chance of a lifetime.  I currently work as a telecommuter for two major US testing companies, so I can work from anywhere, but would continue to have a US bank account, phone number, and address to continue to work for them. However, I can live in Northern Ireland and still work these jobs.  I have been offered the rental of a lovely 3 BR cottage in NI, but am not sure what visa applies to me.  Would a visitor visa be the most appropriate? I would be self-sustained, and not taking a job an EU citizen would need, but don't seem to fit exactly in any visa category.

Would this allow me to rent the cottage and continue to work my telecommuting jobs? Must I apply for residency immediately, in order to rent the cottage?

Thanks very much!

• It's an adventure now.
  • Liked: 30
Re: Which Visa for Telecommuter with US Job Already?
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2017, 06:36:21 PM »
You cannot work, paid or unpaid, even telecommuting, on any visitor visa.

You will need a work visa sponsored by your company, who will need to establish a presence there, apply for a Certificate of Sponsorship, and sponsor you. Perhaps they can partner with a UK company to do this for you.

There is no other way to do what you're asking. You can't just "apply for residency" unless you have a basis for doing so, and that means either citizenship or time spent on an appropriate visa -- work and student visas don't count.

• Liked: 6110
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2017, 06:38:36 PM »
Hello, Everyone!