Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: My first driving lesson  (Read 1417 times)

• Liked: 768
My first driving lesson
« on: May 22, 2017, 11:44:16 AM »
I learned that I've been driving a manual transmission wrong for 28 years and I have no idea what I am doing. I've got years of bad US driving habits to break.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

• Liked: 163
Re: My first driving lesson
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2017, 11:52:07 AM »
You're not learning to drive, you're learning how to drive like they want you to for the 20 or so minutes you're being tested. If you can find an instructor that understands that, it might help.

• Liked: 1893
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2017, 11:52:58 AM »
That sounds very familiar.  I had been driving for more than 20 years and the instructor was screaming "slow down!" And grabbing the wheel!   I think he was just being a bit over dramatic as I went on to pass the test first time after Two lessons.

• Officially a UK Yank!! Established 2002
  • Liked: 38
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2017, 07:23:25 PM »
I learned to drive a stick over here as I only drive automatics in the US. Hated the lessons but worth it in the end. Good luck
My home for 18 years since June 2002. Became a citizen 2006

« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2017, 11:52:27 PM »
My instructor is actually really great and is teaching me to pass the test.

But the excessive use of the emergency brake cracks me up. But I will use it as required to pass the test.

I use the hourly hire care service in my town to get some extra practice in. My husband and I rented it today to drive out to Loch Lomond. I drove 100 miles round trip and I didn't kill anyone so that gives me a wee bit more confidence. Lol

• Liked: 210
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2017, 05:57:24 AM »
My instructor is actually really great and is teaching me to pass the test.

But the excessive use of the emergency brake cracks me up. But I will use it as required to pass the test.