Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Still Confused  (Read 597 times)

• Liked: 6
Still Confused
« on: May 31, 2017, 08:21:02 PM »
Okay so I met with a local accountant in the small village I live in now in England, she said it could be anywhere from 300-400 for her to prepare taxes.  I think I saw that price thrown around in other threads so I assume that's pretty much standard.

My situation here is sole-trader, I believe that is what it's called.  I am an independent contractor, at least that is what it's back in the states.  The accountant here confirmed no issue with me being independent contractor.  I invoice my client, work when I want and where I want, have to pay my own supplies etc.  I had concerns about this bc the online assessment system on the HRMC kept coming up as employed no matter what and it made no sense.  She will file the forms for me to register me as a sole trader for 30 pounds.

Back home I normally filed my own taxes bc they were simple, have no house, was single.  Only things changing now is that I am no longer W-2 employee, I am married now, and live abroad.  Now I have nightmares bc I don't understand it now with the two tax systems.

Unfortunately the local accountant doesn't do US taxes.  Should I consider finding someone that does or do I need two separate firms? Is there such thing as an accounting firm that can do both taxes for US and UK here in England? I told my husband we probably need to consider looking in London area.  I guess my reason for thinking I need someone that knows both is bc I thought I read in threads that I may not need to file a return if I make under 80k USD...but I believe there is still a form that needs to be filed that informs the IRS that I am exempt And don't need to file a return. If I get two accountants will there be a disconnect with this? Or Do I just let the US accountant know I live aboard make under 80k and they will know what to do and not need info from UK?