Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Sending Books  (Read 692 times)

• Liked: 70
Sending Books
« on: June 13, 2017, 08:16:31 PM »
Fortunately I will not need to bring any bulky items over when I move... but as a current student I have a lot of books (and costly books) that I am looking to bring over.

What is the best way to do this?

This is the ONLY thing I need to ship...
Settlement Fiance
Online Submission: April 3
Biometrics: April 7
Sent application: April 10
Confirmation Email: April 12
Upgraded to Priority: April 13
Asked for upgrade confirmation: April 26
Decision Email:June 8 (38 business days)

• Liked: 116
Re: Sending Books
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2017, 03:50:22 PM »
How many books are we talking?

It will probably be more expensive to ship them than it will be to buy them all over again, unfortunately, unless we're talking about like first editions of Hemingway and whatnot.

I'd take the MOST expensive and rare ones in a checked bag or several checked bags (spread throughout to minimize weight) on the airplane.  You could also use sendmybag which is pretty reasonable, but it does go by weight and books will use up a lot of weight.

There isn't a cheaper media mail option for shipping to the UK, I'm afraid. 
Spouse Visa:
Received by Sheffield 19 Nov 2016
Decision Made 26 Jan 2017
Visa Received 30 Jan 2017
Arrived in UK 15 Feb 2017
FLR (M) Biometrics 16 Sep 2019
FLR (M) Approved 17 Sep 2019 (Super Priority)

• Liked: 1260
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2017, 09:02:04 PM »
Fortunately I will not need to bring any bulky items over when I move... but as a current student I have a lot of books (and costly books) that I am looking to bring over.

What is the best way to do this?

This is the ONLY thing I need to ship...