Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: No Taxation without Representation!! Voting rights.  (Read 2548 times)

• Liked: 0
No Taxation without Representation!! Voting rights.
« on: November 27, 2017, 11:45:48 AM »
I'm married to a UK national and have lived in the UK for 11 years.  I am a permanent resident (ILR).  My gripe is that although I pay taxes here I cannot vote, even in local elections.  All permanent residents in the UK from Commonwealth countries can vote in the UK.  This is wrong and I think it should be changed.  Remember the Boston Tea Party?
I'm ready to take a box of PG Tips and chuck it into the Kennet Canal!  Are there any others on this site who are in the same situation?  What are your thoughts?  Any ideas for how to change the law?

• Liked: 1891
Re: No Taxation without Representation!! Voting rights.
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2017, 12:45:20 PM »
I'm ready to March on parliament!  Where does one buy a torch and pitchfork in Westminster?

• Liked: 63
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2017, 01:41:49 PM »
It's been a while since I took a history class, but I seem to remember that the Boston Tea Party was about residents of the colonies not having representation. We expats must file a US tax return, and often do pay tax......we should be complaining to Congress, not Parliament.

If you've lived here 11 years, why have you not become a citizen? I did that as soon as I was eligible, because I wanted the right to vote and fully participate in the system.

I don't necessarily agree with giving Commonwealth citizens voting rights, but there is some long-standing basis for that. We yanks fought to divorce ourselves from the UK, so whatever our status, IMHO, we have no cause for complaint....even in jest :-).
Married December 1992 (my 'old flame' whom I first met in the mid-70s)
1st move to UK - 1993 (Letter of Consent granted at British Embassy in Washington DC)
ILR - 1994 (1 year later - no fee way back then!)
Back to US in 2000