Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Please Help, More Questions  (Read 2529 times)

• Liked: 6
Please Help, More Questions
« on: February 27, 2018, 12:25:31 AM »
UGH why can't I get this stuff?  Okay I have questions, I just don't get it.  Please bear in mind that my taxes were very simple prior to the move so I've never had any complex scenarios.  I was single, no assets and just always took the standard deduction b/c I had no expenses.  I'm now married, but intend to file separately anyhow to keep our finances separate.  I know that if I filed jointly it would benefit me as my husband is a carer and makes no substantial income, but I want to avoid having to obtain an ITIN for him.

I moved to England 5/3/2017.  January through 4/30/2018 I worked as W-2 employee, as of May 2018 I was 1099.  I invoice the US company that I work with, I'm under a contract with my previous employer that states I am an independent contractor.  I talked to an accountant in the village and she said I need to do a Self Assessment in UK, not a problem.  I know I have to file taxes each year for IRS.  Here is what I do not get.

I read online that sometimes those that are self employed need to file quarterly taxes, this was for US/IRS.  Was I supposed to be paying quarterly taxes to the IRS?  I thought I just filed returns and paid the taxes at the time I filed returns.

IRS Taxes are due April 15, 2018.  Okay.  I read that I get an automatic extension so they are not due until June.  If I owe taxes, which I believe I do, I read you still have to pay as of April b/c otherwise you get assessed late payment penalties and interest on the amount owed.   Right?  I'm not sure when the UK tax returns are due, I believe at the end of this year.  Is that right? I know I have to register for self assessment by 5 October 2018 based on the above dates of when I moved to the UK.  When do I actually file the return, end of 2018, start of 2019?