Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Online tax prep recommendations?  (Read 793 times)

• Liked: 60
Online tax prep recommendations?
« on: March 04, 2018, 03:50:35 PM »
This is my first year filing US taxes from overseas, so I'm having some growing pains. I have always used TurboTax for my federal return. However, this year since I'm married, it won't let me progress without listing a SSN/ITN for my UKC husband. I thought I should be able to file without listing it since he is an NRA, but it won't let me move on. He and I both have absolutely zero desire in registering him for an ITN, because he wants nothing to do with Uncle Sam. (It also won't accept a non-US phone number - but worst case I have a Skype phone number I can give them.)

Are there other programs I can use that won't get hung up on it? Is there a way around that in TurboTax?

My tax situation isn't overly complicated, but I do usually end up itemizing my deductions.

• Liked: 102
Re: Online tax prep recommendations?
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2018, 07:23:10 PM »
Why would itemizing deductions save you any tax? If you paid UK tax, rates are higher than US tax rates.

• Liked: 63
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2018, 07:35:32 PM »
You should be filing as 'Married Filing Separately' so only your income is reported. Unless you want to claim an exemption for your UKC husband, there's not need for an ITIN or SSN. That might be your TurboTax problem.

It can be advantageous to claim the exemption for your husband if you are eligible to do so. His income is still not reported/taxed - it just reduces your taxable income.

If you are claiming the FTC (rather than the FEIE), tax paid to the UK should more than offset any US tax due.
Married December 1992 (my 'old flame' whom I first met in the mid-70s)
1st move to UK - 1993 (Letter of Consent granted at British Embassy in Washington DC)
ILR - 1994 (1 year later - no fee way back then!)
Back to US in 2000
Returned to UK July 2011 (Spousal Visa/KOL endorsement)