Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: UK Paycheck - How Much Will I Keep?  (Read 7395 times)

• Liked: 0
UK Paycheck - How Much Will I Keep?
« on: July 17, 2008, 01:45:18 AM »
I guess this is really more that just a tax question.  For the sake of round numbers, let's assume someone makes £4,000 a month.  In the States one would pay federal tax, social security, state tax, county tax, etc.  I'm trying to budget how much I'll have for rent and was hoping someone could just provide a rough estimate what types of taxes and other deductions would be applicable in the UK, specifically London (e.g., city tax?). 

Any help is appreciated.  Thanks!

• Because he's a surfer and i'm a scot!
Re: UK Paycheck - How Much Will I Keep?
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2008, 09:27:00 AM »
Hi

I'm no expert but...

I would estimate a take home pay of something in the region of £2,900.  Tax would be in the region of 20% and National Insurance contributions somewhere in the region of 8%.  This assumes that it's a straightforward situation, doesn't include pensions or some weird and wonderful tax code.

There's a few websites you could search around for, maybe google something like Tax Calculator.

« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2008, 09:33:32 AM »
this is the calculator I always use: http://listentotaxman.com/

If your annual salary was £48,000- take home pay would be about £2857/monthly
If you harbour bitterness, happiness will dock elsewhere.

• Liked: 2
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2008, 02:00:14 PM »
You will also have to pay council tax but that totally depends on where you live and what kind of property you live in.

« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2008, 03:51:58 PM »
Thanks everyone for your reply's.  This was very helpful!

« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2008, 10:45:30 PM »