Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Moving to London Need to Find Legal Admin Work  (Read 555 times)

• Liked: 0
Moving to London Need to Find Legal Admin Work
« on: June 15, 2005, 07:20:37 AM »
Hi everyone,
I am new to this forum.  I have been up so late every night reading all of your helpful posts.  Well, I am a twenty something single female moving to London from the US on an HSMP visa.  As expected of moving to any country, I am going to need a full time job fairly soon.  I have 7 years of experience in the legal field as a paralegal, legal assistant, and executive.  I also hold a US law degree.  All the experience I hold is with US law firms.  How realistic will it be for me to secure a job in the legal field?  I know that there are US law firms in the UK, but how skeptical will the UK firms be in interviewing an American with no UK law experience?

I know that the agencies are the safe bet for me to get my foot in the door.  So far, I have contacted Hudson, GR Law, and Lawson Clark.  Can someone tell me if they have had pos/neg experiences with these agencies and maybe suggest some more? 

I am really scared and nervous to make this move on my own, without knowing a single soul in the UK.  I know that this is a big risk/gamble, but I feel like this is the step in the right direction as it has been my lifelong dream to live in the UK. 

Thank you for all your helpful posts and I hope that someone has some encouraging words and advice for me.

An American Werewolf in London...............

Re: Moving to London Need to Find Legal Admin Work
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2005, 08:14:08 AM »