Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: proposed domestic partnership to Irish/Canadian dual citizen living in Edinburgh  (Read 1844 times)

• Liked: 0
Hi! So I've looked through a whole bunch of stuff and I *think* I've got a handle on most of this, however I feel like I'm missing something.

Soooo my girlfriend and I (She's 32, I'm 30) have been dating for seven months now and have planned on getting married since January. We've met 3 times: once in Montreal for 5 days, and two times in Edinburgh for about 10 days each. She's planning on visiting here before we apply for the fiancé/proposed domestic partnership visa.

She is a dual Irish/Canadian citizen who is working in Edinburgh. I am a US citizen. She makes quite a good salary on her own and makes enough to support the both of us (she's a research fellow). She rents her flat. I have a Master's degree in librarianship and have never been unemployed (although it seems to matter less that I can get a job than that she can support us both). She's been divorced.

( So this is what I've found to send in for my application found from http://www.britainusa.com/visas/articles_show_nt1.asp?i=65035&L1=41000&a=41031 and http://www.ukvisas.gov.uk/en/howtoapply/infs/inf4husbandswifespartners: )

So my visa, her visa, 3 months of bank statements from each of us, my birth certificate, her divorce papers, her rental agreement, evidence of her employment (pay checks? a letter?), and emails between the two of us?

Do I send photographs? Do we need to do anything differently since she's on an Irish passport? I heard something about a certificate of non-impediment or something maybe?

Is there anyway we should get married in Canada (since obviously the US is out) instead of going through the whole fiance/marriage visa route?

Also what the hell do these things cost anyway? It seems like L 515 for the fiance visa, but then how about switching? I've seen everything from L395-515 being said.