Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: US Pension while working in the UK  (Read 569 times)

• Liked: 6
US Pension while working in the UK
« on: September 07, 2024, 01:34:48 PM »
Hello,
I was thinking about applying for early retirement from the job I worked while living in the US in order to start receiving my pension to help make ends meet. To be clear, it's been years since I left that job to move and live in the UK. Since I worked as a city employee, I am enrolled in retirement system that is run by the State I lived in and worked in. 
I still plan to continue working in the UK as well and my current Visa status is Indefinite Leave to Remain.
So, what are the tax implications for me in both the US and the UK. Will I get taxed in both the US and the UK. I still feel out my 1040 every year. Is my pension treated as income in the US for tax purposes. In order to apply for retirement with the State pension plan I have to fill out a IRS Form W-4P for federal tax withholding​ and
A State Tax Withholding Request for the State I worked in.
I tried to read up on this, but am still not certain and a bit confused about how all this works. Along with the questions I asked, is there anything else I need to know. Thank you.

• Liked: 734
Re: US Pension while working in the UK
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2024, 02:18:05 PM »
I am not a tax pro but have been in a similar position for a few years. As a USC living in the UK I file both an HMRC and IRS return each year.  I have a private pension from a former US employer and that is taxed by both the IRS and HMRC but on my IRS return I claim a foreign tax credit for the HMRC tax I paid on that income so I don't get double taxed. At first glance the IRS foreign tax credit form, 1116, looks like it is for tax on foreign income, but you check the box "Income Resourced by Treaty" to tell the IRS that there is a treaty in place which allows a foreign tax credit against this US income.