Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Driving lessons and practical test  (Read 852 times)

• Liked: 1
Driving lessons and practical test
« on: April 29, 2024, 09:09:37 PM »
Hi everyone, I'm in the process of getting my UK driving licence - have just passed theory test (hooray!) and now have the practical ahead of me. I'm trying to figure out what I should expect in terms of how difficult the transition will be, and how many hours of instruction I should plan on getting. I've been a driver for 25+ years in the US but have not yet driven in the UK (though I've cycled extensively). I'll be looking to get my automatic licence to make things as easy as possible, and I'll need to go through a driving instructor so I can use their car (all my friends with cars drive manual). Lessons are really expensive, though! Has anyone gone through this process as an experienced driver - how many lessons did you take before you were ready for the test? Should I really not expect to pass the first time? Any advice appreciated!

• Liked: 684
Re: Driving lessons and practical test
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2024, 02:20:01 AM »
Hi everyone, I'm in the process of getting my UK driving licence - have just passed theory test (hooray!) and now have the practical ahead of me. I'm trying to figure out what I should expect in terms of how difficult the transition will be, and how many hours of instruction I should plan on getting. I've been a driver for 25+ years in the US but have not yet driven in the UK (though I've cycled extensively). I'll be looking to get my automatic licence to make things as easy as possible, and I'll need to go through a driving instructor so I can use their car (all my friends with cars drive manual). Lessons are really expensive, though! Has anyone gone through this process as an experienced driver - how many lessons did you take before you were ready for the test? Should I really not expect to pass the first time? Any advice appreciated!