Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Buying HMRC reporting funds through a UK broker  (Read 921 times)

• Liked: 0
Buying HMRC reporting funds through a UK broker
« on: May 03, 2022, 07:16:36 AM »
Hi everyone

I am new to investing and HORRIFIED to discover the dual citizen tax trap my government has put me in. On the plus side, as I am at the beginning of my investing journey, I want to set it up well and avoid mistakes. This forum has been a very useful resource for which I am very grateful. I would welcome clarification on one point.

If I purchase reporting fund ETFs (eg Vanguard ETFs) through a UK-based broker (eg H&L) do I get around the PFIC problem?

This article https://creativeplanning.com/insights/americans-in-the-uk-need-to-avoid-this-catch-22-investment-trap [nofollow] suggests as long as it's a US ETF and a reporting fund, it will avoid the 'Catch 22'. Sounds good to me. BUT a recent webinar by the same company suggested that the best solution to PFIC # for expat investing was to only hold US ETFs through a US broker. (replays can be requested on their website). The presenter never states it explicitly but uses the same expression several times, and in the Q&A he often suggests opening a US brokerage account. I have found this forum post from 2013 helpful suggesting that with the right CUSIP numbers, it should be fine - but the posts never specified whether it worked or not.

So my question is simply – is there an advantage/disadvantage to where the broker itself is based for PFIC rules, or other matters?

I went ahead and opened a Stock/share ISA with H&L intending to invest in US based Vanguard funds through them. Now I see the fees, I realise that's not ideal and in the long term I will regret it. I also see that HL may withhold 30% for tax as well. So I've paused on that to consider options...