Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Newbie, planning to move to the UK early 2023  (Read 2529 times)

• Liked: 1
Newbie, planning to move to the UK early 2023
« on: May 15, 2022, 11:40:14 PM »
Hi everyone!

My name's Daniel.  I currently live and work in Alabama, but my plans are to move to the UK around the start of next year.  I'm an IT professional, but I'm finishing up a degree in History (even at 43, I don't know what I want to do when I grow up...lol).  I will be graduating in December, which is the reason I need to wait until after that to make my move.

Ideally, I'd like to live in Lichfield and work as a 2nd tier IT Helpdesk Analyst within a 45-50 minute bus/train commute.  However, I'm not completely tied to that area.  I've made three trips to the UK in recent years and absolutely fell in love from the first moment.  Funny enough, in those three trips I never went to London (Been to York, various areas in Wales, areas around Birmingham, and Lichfield).

The reason I sought out this forum is because as time gets closer to my graduation, I'm going to need advice on making sure my CV is ready to go, job hunting tips, the visa/moving process.  Right now, though, I'll just take a look at the forums.  Looking forward to chatting with everyone!

• Liked: 6110
Re: Newbie, planning to move to the UK early 2023
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2022, 06:57:19 AM »
Hi everyone!

My name's Daniel.  I currently live and work in Alabama, but my plans are to move to the UK around the start of next year.  I'm an IT professional, but I'm finishing up a degree in History (even at 43, I don't know what I want to do when I grow up...lol).  I will be graduating in December, which is the reason I need to wait until after that to make my move.