Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Moving to Scotland, need help!  (Read 944 times)

• Liked: 0
Moving to Scotland, need help!
« on: January 29, 2005, 11:44:35 PM »
Hello,  it is truely exciting to find a website for yankees going to the UK.  I live in the United States right now however in the near future i will be moving to Scotland.  I need to find information on Visas and anyother pertnent information.  I will be moving with my wife so how does that work out.  will she need a visa because she might work as well?  also I will not only be working over there in scotland but building my own business how will that factor in?  This also might be a permenent move so how will that affect the legalistics?  thanks
Jason Methvin

Re: Moving to Scotland, need help!
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2005, 02:25:48 AM »
I'm not an expert, there's people here  who know far more than me who could tell you alot more, but yes, your wife will also need a visa, as well as your children if you have any. A good source of information pertaining to the type of visa you would need if you are coming over to the UK to establish a business is britianusa.com.

« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2005, 07:55:52 AM »
Are either of you British citizens?
When was the last time you visited Scotland?

« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2005, 09:32:27 AM »
Um, yes, you most definitely need visas to stay here longer than 6 months and to work or look for work at all unless you and/or your wife are UK or EU nationals. 

« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2005, 06:23:02 AM »
Thanxs for your input all.
We are not UK nationals but rather US citizens.