Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Likely to find a job from the US?  (Read 2856 times)

• Liked: 0
Likely to find a job from the US?
« on: February 11, 2005, 09:49:32 AM »
Im going to start looking for a non-IT job in the UK from the US, but Im less than confident that anything will come of this.  Im a citizen of an EU country so its not a problem from that standpoint.  I plan on looking at supply teacher and asylum work crap because thats what I have experience in, but anything would be ok just to start.  Even food-related work.  And I have a degree for what thats worth. 

I dont want to move until I have a job offer or at least some promising interviews.  Anybody successfully do this? 

Re: Likely to find a job from the US?
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2005, 09:55:06 AM »
I think a few people on the board have been lucky to be answered at all when applying for a job in the UK from the US, or elsewhere.  I was not one of those people.  It was not till I was living in the UK that I actually received calls and emails.

• Liked: 8
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2005, 10:22:26 AM »
You do have some advantage over US citizens -- at least you're an EU citizen and already have residence and work privileges in the UK.  That might get your foot in the door, but Stacey's right -- it's very difficult to get employers to listen to you when you're so far away with no exact plans for moving. 

If you're wanting to do some supply teaching, I'd say just go ahead and move over.  There's so much demand that I'm sure you'll get a placement within a few days of getting here -- agencies are everywhere!  If nothing else, you can do that while you're looking for something more permanent.

• Hi there.
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2005, 02:03:45 PM »