Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Anyone harassed at work for being American?  (Read 7530 times)

• From Texas to North Yorkshire
  • Liked: 0
Anyone harassed at work for being American?
« on: August 21, 2003, 11:25:43 AM »
I'm just curious, since I'm harassed on a near-daily basis for being American.

Leave the matter of religion to the family altar, the church, and the private schools, supported entirely by private contributions. Keep the church and the state forever separated. -- Ulysses S. Grant

• US to UK to US to UK.
    • Flying Nunns
  • Liked: 8
Re: Anyone harassed at work for being American?
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2003, 12:56:36 PM »
At my most recent job I was never harassed for being American, but one girl that worked there ( I worked in a shop, so worked with a lot of girls who were 16 etc) annoyed the h£ll out of me because of my Americanness. She'd pick up a vest: "Hey, what do you call THESE in America!" - or she'd screech (everything was in a screech and loud enough for the whole shop to hear "Ooh, say this word! Oh your accent! Tee hee!" and then after 10 minutes or so she'd say something like "Oh let me think, what else about America can we talk about" - she'd interrupt me when I was with a customer just to ask me (even though she knew) what a jumper was called back where I'm from. One day she harassed me all day about me doing a southern accent. I told her I didn't do one on demand, she wouldn't leave me alone and talked about Steel Magnolias all day. GOD I hated that twit.

So how are you harassed then? Where do you work - is it your co-workers or customers?
I'm done moving. Unrepatriated back to the UK, here for good!

Angels are made out of Coffee Beans, Noodles, and Carbon.

http://flyingnunns.blogspot.com
http://coffeebeancards.etsy.com

• Unavailable for Comment.
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2003, 01:58:51 PM »