Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Abondoning Legal Perm Residence and Taxes filing jointly --HELP!  (Read 626 times)

• Liked: 1
Abondoning Legal Perm Residence and Taxes filing jointly --HELP!
« on: November 07, 2005, 11:32:45 AM »
Here is the scenario.

My husband has had to abandon his green card because we have remianed out the of the USA for over a year.  So he is now going to be just a normal UK citizen married to a US citizen.  At some time we may choose to go back to the USA.

We lived in the USA for 3.5 years prior to moving here and filed every year jointly. 

I am a full time student here in the UK.

We have not earned any money in the USA in this tax year, but do have some checking and savings accounts and I have my IRA's . 

Immigration wise I think we should still file so in the event we return we have proof of realtionship and all that.

BUT

Do we have to file?  What do we file since we earned nothing? 

In the UK he has worked, but not enough to pay tax to the USA... also can we still file jointly even if he is no longer a legal permanent resident?

HELP!!!!

The wiring in our brain is not static, not irrevocably fixed.  Our brains are adaptable. -Mattieu Ricard

Being ignorant is not so much a shame as being unwilling to learn. -Benjamin Franklin

I have long since come to believe that people never mean half of what they say, and that it is best to disregard their talk and judge only their actions. -D.Day

• Death and taxes: I'd rather pay tax than be dead.
    • British American Tax
  • Liked: 0
Re: Abondoning Legal Perm Residence and Taxes filing jointly --HELP!
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2005, 01:18:29 PM »
1)  Your hubby.  For US tax purposes, he has NOT given up his greencard until he files Form 8854.  You can get this off the IRS website at http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f8854.pdf and the instructions for filling in the form are at http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/i8854.pdf .