Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: How much $$ should be saved before immigrating?  (Read 1787 times)

How much $$ should be saved before immigrating?
« on: August 20, 2002, 08:03:36 PM »
Hi everyone,

I was wondering on an estimate how much money would be wise to save before immigrating to England? I will be comming to London in four years time, so at least I have got the grace of time.

According to my calculations, if I saved 192.00$ a month for four years I could have approxmatelty 10.000$ in the bank. But I mean realistically is this possible?? I think not. I am still a student and must mind the 2.000 dollar student loan that will have to start be being paid back 6 months after graduation. Also, I must account for the normal expensives of life and any possible emergencies.

I mean I will be working 20 hours a week for 8$ a week if I am lucky.

Of course I have to start saving for immigration....and that has plenty of expenses and worries with it too.
What does everyone else think?

thanks,

Samantha**** :)

• I love mankind...It's people I can't stand.
  • Liked: 0
Re: How much $$ should be saved before immigrating
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2002, 08:10:03 PM »
Well let's see.  When I did it, we had to pay for flights and actually getting over there which was about $900-1000 (there were two of us though), then shipping costs were not quite so much because left a lot of stuff behind, but if you want to ship all your stuff over at once you're looking at at least $1000 for that, then my visa which allows me to live and work in the UK indefinately was over $400 and then I think it's really just living expenses when you're there until you find a job and can support yourself.  

But keep in mind it's been like 5 years since I've done this so it might have changed.  Maybe someone who has done it more recently will have better figures.

Hope it helped a little anyway.  Good luck!
Friends don't let friends get "Friends" haircuts!