Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Baby on Work Permit  (Read 1935 times)

• Liked: 0
Baby on Work Permit
« on: February 07, 2006, 05:02:56 PM »
it looks like someone has had some experience with having babies in the UK!

I am an unmarried american in the Uk on a work permit - which expires in 2008. My partner (British) and I had a baby here in the UK last month. The trouble is we thought that since the baby's father was British - the baby could be dual. However I am just learning this is not the case and that the baby can only be american. we have an appointment with the american embassy in march to get her passport, etc...

Does anyone know of the best way to keep my daughter here with me? Would it be to have her listed as the work permit dependent? or is there another route I can take as far as getting her British citizenship?

I am planning a trip back to the US in April... and want to make sure that she can come back in the UK as this is our home!

Thanks in advance for any advice anyone is willing to offier....,

• Liked: 2
Re: Baby on Work Permit
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2006, 05:25:54 PM »
Section 1(1) British Nationality Act 1981

a person born in the United Kingdom on or after 1 January 1983 is a British citizen at birth if, at the time of the birth:

* either parent is a British citizen; or

* either parent is settled in the United Kingdom

Who told you your baby is not a British citizen and why?

• Banned

• Liked: 4
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2006, 06:09:25 PM »
The laws in this area are a bit complex as technically the automatic right to pass on nationality from a British father when the parents are not married has not yet been rolled out...but in practice, yes, your child will certainly be given British nationality if you apply.

Victoria

« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2006, 06:38:04 PM »
That's what we originally thought... imagine our shock when we recently found out otherwise!